‘she is like a bird of paradise’- f.scott fitzgerald

I like Fitzgerald’s quote. It’s pure and so very accurate. I think it captures Janis’ soul, music and stage personality which I hope is her real personality. If it doesn’t, this tumblr about Janis Joplin alone definitely does: http://fuckyeahjanisjoplin.tumblr.com/

I still like Fitzgerald’s quote.

It must be, it must be.

From her tunes and her style, Janis seemed to be like a hybrid of effortlessness, carelessness and hope. She didn’t seem to care what anyone thought. She didn’t seem to care about what anyone said. Janis was Janis. She had talent. She was a musician. She wasn’t the typical sexbomb. She was a woman who cared about her music. She was a woman devoted to what music meant to the world and what the world meant to music. She was a musician. She was a person of her own. She had soul that I envy. She had electricity in her spirit that I long for. She wrote her own songs. Songs that people still listen to. Songs that people still sing. She made a difference to the 60s psychedelic rock scene and I admire her for doing so. Being a woman would have been extremely difficult too and she did it. Janis was Janis. She was really somethin’.

She was like a bird whose dreams were simple. I want to be like a bird of paradise too.

I do, I do.

I have compiled a number of websites dedicated to: “Quotes”. When I am enamoured by a famous person who no longer has a twitter or Facebook or blog or interviews, I look up their quotes. I don’t think I am alone……..Right?!?

From the documented quotes, I manage to gauge how they are like. The number of quotes are so limited. Yet it tells quite a bit about the person. (In the brackets underneath Janis’ quotes, I write instant thoughts and reactions) I find it fascinating to read the few quotes that are remembered well enough to be published in this fashion. These quotes, I find, are always the inspirational quotes. These quotes are always endearing. They are worthy of being quoted again and again.

1. http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/j/janis_joplin.html

“Being an intellectual creates a lot of questions and no answers.  You can fill your life up with ideas and still go home lonely. All you really have that really matters are feelings. That’s what music is to me.””- Janis. J

(THAT IS SO TRUE Janis. Intellectuals think too, too much. They do not feel enough)

“On stage I make love to twenty five thousand people; and then I go home alone”

(HOW LONELY is rock star life 😦 It’s funny how musicians can belong to no one. It has never made perfect sense to me)

2. http://thinkexist.com/quotes/janis_joplin/

“As a matter of fact, as we discovered on the train, tomorrow never happens, man. It’s all the same f***ing day, man.”

(Yep. YEP. YEP. I hate trains and the days that go with it are pretty bad too, sometimes. Public transport does not enhance the quality of life (rarely does)

“Why should I hold back now and sound mediocre just so I can sound mediocre twenty years from now?”

(Damm right Janis. I need to write this down somewhere. She is a bird. Oh my)

3. http://www.whosdatedwho.com/tpx_1105/janis-joplin/quotes

“Guess what, I might be the first hippie pinup girl”

(Funny Janis. Thank God. Not all women want to be sexualised in the most overt way. Hahaha I’d rather be a pin up hippy girl aswell)

“I always wanted to be an artist, whatever that was, like other chicks want to be stewardesses. I read. I painted. I thought”

(This makes me sad. She wanted to be an artist. She did not want to be mediocre. She did not want to conform. It’s sad that she couldn’t live on to be much, much more)

